Liebster Award 2015

I want to thank Marika Purena for nominating me for this award! For those of you who are visiting my blog for the first time, I’m based in Seattle and starting out a career in journalism. I write about social justice, feminism and world affairs (or any combination of those things).

Here are the rules for the award, if you were nominated:

The-Rules

Here is my personal list of nominees for the award, in no particular order. If I nominated you, it means I thought your blog was pretty neat-o and I was probably really interested in what you write about (hint: I like feminism and travel, especially Central Asia).

  1. Girl. 20-Something.
  2. Julia View
  3. Republic Of The East
  4. Steppe Dispatches
  5. Emma Sabzalieva
  6. True World Travels
  7. Musing About Hedgehogs

And now to answer Marika’s questions:

  1. Where do you get your inspiration? I’d say I get a lot of little ideas from talking to people. It could be literally anyone. Someone could say the tiniest novel idea and I’ll just run with it. Other than that I’m not sure…I just have a lot of weird outside-the-box opinions swimming around in my head! I’m a pretty creative thinker, so I think ideas just sort of flow to me.
  2. What do you value the most in people? I could say the typical “I value honesty, and blah blah blah.” Obviously that’s an important one, but honestly I think I value a sense of humor over most other things. If someone can’t make me laugh then we probably wont be good friends.
  3. What are you afraid of? Failure. It sounds silly and cliched, but I’m deathly afraid of failing and not making a decent or fulfilling life for myself.
  4. What’s your favorite quote? I think this changes, but right now it’s (and I’m paraphrasing here): “everything that happened in your past has helped to shape who you are in the present.”
  5. What are your plans for 2016? A LOT of writing.
  6. What’s your favorite song? Oh jeez…that is such a hard question. The answer to this changes literally every week, but right at this very moment it’s “Out Of The Blue” by Julian Casablancas. Stay tuned next week, because it’ll surely be different then.
  7. What do you do besides blogging? Well, I also work at a Mexican restaurant as a bartender/server, which you can read all about here (why yes, I am self-promoting my work!). When I’m not working or writing, I’m probably out discovering new music, and occasionally I art. Oh yeah and I guess I have friends and stuff.
  8. What’s your favorite food? Again, another extremely difficult question, so I’ll give you my top four: sushi, Indian curry, Ethiopian, ramen (like, real ramen). I’m really not picky though.
  9. If you could keep one thing for your entire life, what would it be? I assume this means, “if I had to keep only one thing, what would it be…” Another hard question. If I had to say something off the top of my head, I guess some nice fancy headphones that wouldn’t break? I always have music on whenever I can and I always unintentionally destroy headphones.
  10. What’s your favorite book? Duh, Harry Potter. I also liked Travels in Siberia by Ian Frazier a lot.
  11. What makes people happy? Well, unfortunately I can’t really speak for everyone, but for me, listening to “Don’t Stop Me Now,” snow (doesn’t snow much here), writing, any of the aforementioned foods.

Alright, I guess it’s time for 11 random facts about me:

  1. I can crack almost every joint in my body (I know, gross).
  2. I have a weird obsession with Central Asia and the former Soviet Union (I’ve written on these topics…check out my blog!).
  3. I took a bunch of random languages in college, but most notably three years of Russian and five years of Japanese (sadly I hardly remember the Japanese).
  4. I was on my university’s boxing team.
  5. I don’t watch tv (or own one, for that matter).
  6. I’m obsessed with German sheppards (and dogs in general, really).
  7. I’m of Scandinavian, Italian, and French heritage (and probably some other stuff).
  8. I don’t like Taylor Swift’s music.
  9. If I had to be the age I am now (25) in a different decade, I’d pick either the ’70s or the early ’90s (way too much music).
  10. My original plan was to go to law school but then I realized I’d be miserable and horrible at that, so I decided I wanted to do something I’m a little better at and enjoy a lot more (journalism).
  11. One of my dream travel excursions right now is North Korea.

And lastly, here are my questions for YOU:

  1. Why did you start writing? Why do you continue?
  2. If you could travel literally anywhere in the world, money being no obstacle, where would you go?
  3. If you could be the age you are now in any decade in history, which would it be?
  4. Who was your favorite artist/musician when you were in high school?
  5. What was the last song you listened to (no lying!!)?
  6. Name a musician or artist you think everyone should know about (that we probably don’t know about already).
  7. What’s your favorite food (or top three if you can’t pick)?
  8. Did you ever/do you play any instruments? If so, what?
  9. Do you speak any foreign languages?
  10. What’s your favorite dessert food?
  11. What’s your favorite season?

Thanks for taking the time to read, and of course, follow me for more articles!

One comment

  1. marikapurena · December 15, 2015

    It was very interesting to read this and to know more of you 🙂 I can totally say that the way you write is very attractive, so in my opinion that is a good sign for Journalist 🙂 I will definitely read your posts further, cause I like the way you look at things and processes around you! Good that I discovered you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

