Confessions From A Creative Brain

You’ve probably heard the notion that left-brained people are logical and mathematical thinkers, while right-brained people lean more toward creativity. Whether or not this theory has actual credibility is questionable, but I don’t think we need concrete scientific evidence to tell us that some people tend to be more formulaic and some tend to be creative.

I fall into the latter group, and it’s simultaneously a blessing and a curse.

On one hand, having a creative brain is great; anything in the arts has always come naturally to me. I took clarinet and guitar lessons all throughout my childhood and later on taught myself how to play piano by ear with no YouTube videos, lessons or knowledge of how to read piano music. Writing and visual arts have also been areas that have always come naturally to me. And while formulas and equations make virtually no sense to me and fail to interest me with every encounter, I can think critically about things in ways that mathematically-inclined people often times don’t understand. Perhaps above all, creativity is therapeutic to me. It just makes sense to me.

Enough bragging. Being a creative person also sucks. It sucks to have people tell you that what you’re doing is “just a hobby,” or that it doesn’t matter; that it’s not as important as what the engineers or computer scientists are doing.

My creativity is also all over the place; I go from project to project, pouring my heart into each one in relatively short bursts (the featured photo is an example of one of my creative bursts). I have a huge list of writing topics stored in a Word document that I want to write about because my mind is constantly everywhere and I need to force it to stay organized. I paint obsessively for a brief amount of time and produce good stuff, only to lose my creative drive a short time later. I have paintings strewn all over my apartment from these creative bursts. It’s tough to continuously create for a long period of time. Creativity comes from a specific place, and it requires a lot of energy and devotion.

When I do lose that creative drive I fall into a strange depressive state that wont go away until I’m creating again. It’s like a high that I’m constantly searching for.

If you’re a fellow creator, embrace your creative brain and don’t let anyone tell you that what you’re doing isn’t important, because without us who would create the art of the world?

Like the featured painting? Click here.

Leave a Reply

